Skip navigation links

Call us directly: (641) 464-0691

109 W. Madison Mt. Ayr, IA 50854 View Location

Mar 24

Dr. Max Mekus, DVM, Resigns from Board of Health

Dr. Max Mekus, DVM, resigned from the Board of Health in January 2015.  He had served on the Board for 26 years.  Pictured below, Becky Fletchall, RN, BSN, nurse administrator of Ringgold County Public Health, presents to Dr. Mekus a certificate of appreciation from the Iowa Department of Public Health.

Board of Health members are volunteers who are appointed by the county board of supervisors per Iowa Code Chapter 137. They have jurisdiction over public health matters in the county with duties that include enforcement of local and state health laws. Membership must consist of five people, and one must be a physician. Current members include: Dr. Bruce Ricker, DO; Raydeen Derscheid, ARNP; Melissa Friedrich, CRNA; and Darla Sobotka, PA.

Dr. Keith Miller, DVM, has been appointed by the Board of Supervisors to fill the vacancy on the board.